Easy Homemade Pita Bread

I love to bake. You know this already.  I really like to bake things that look and seem complicated, but aren’t.

This is how it goes: I make something that takes no time at all, but looks complicated. People are impressed and say things like “That’s amazing! I wish I could do that!”. I say nothing and keep on letting them think I am a baking genius.

But as I’ve said before, I’m turning over a new leaf. I want to help people learn.

…and I also wanted to impress my boyfriend. Some habits never die. Sorry.

So here it is: The easiest pita bread recipe ever.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/8 c warm water
  • 1 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1 1/2 tsp white sugar
  • 3 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tbsp olive oil, plus a little more to coat pan

You can change this recipe up however you want. When adding the flour, mix in any spices you want. Garlic, red pepper, basil, oregano, brown sugar…You decide!

In a large mixing bowl:

Start with warm water and stir in sugar. Next, sprinkle the yeast on top of the water and let it sit for about 10 minutes to proof (bloom, get bigger, expand…whatever you want to call it.)

Next, stir in the flour, salt, and olive oil.

Knead dough until everything is incorporated and is no longer quite so sticky.

Coat another bowl or pan with olive oil, and transfer dough. Cover with a warm, damp towel and move bowl to someplace warm to rise and double in size.

I let mine sit for about an hour and a half. It probably didn’t need that long, but I got distracted by America’s Next Top Model and forgot about it.

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Next, on a lightly floured surface, roll dough into a log shape. (About a foot long, I think…maybe a little bit longer)

Next, divide the dough into 8 sections. I reccommend (recommend? reccomend? reccccccommmend?)) starting from the center…Divide it in half, then each of those in half, etc.

The next step is really important, because (and I don’t know why) this is what allows the pocket to form inside the pita.

Roll each section into a ball.

Kind of anti-climatic, yes?  I know. I was expecting something crazy.

Anyhow-

Each ball then gets rolled out. I should have measured. I didn’t. I’m sorry. Let’s just call this the “creative part,” and say that you can roll them out into whatever size you want. If you want baby pitas, roll smaller circles. Bigger pitas, bigger circles. The dough doesn’t really change size when it bakes, so whatever you roll out will be about the same size when it’s done.

(I didn’t take “lightly flour” to heart…I went a little crazy with it. But it helps them from sticking to each other!)

Here’s another shot, to see how thick they are.

Here’s the fun part. The baking.

If you’re really awesome and have one of these, then use it. I’m poor and don’t have one, so I stuck them right on my oven rack.

The first time you bake one, I suggest doing one at a time, until you get the hang of it.

It’s simple: Place one of your circles of dough on the bottom oven rack for about 4-5 minutes. Don’t run away! Sit and watch because after a few minutes, this is what it does:

I thought it was cool. But then again, I nerd out about baking and kitchen-y things.

Once it puffs, leave it for a few more seconds and then remove. Once it’s cool enough to be handled, cut in half.

Pita Pocket!

You can fill these with just about anything.

Marinara, cheese, veggies, lunch meat, peanut butter…

Or my favorite, slice them up and dip them in hummus! Yum hummus. I need to upload some hummus recipes soon.

If you’re not a fan of the soft pita, go a step further.

Preheat oven to 375, slice pitas and drizzle with olive oil and garlic powder…Bake for about 10 minutes…Homemade pita chips!

Currently dancing to: “Daydreams,” Adele.

2 Responses

  1. I’m going to try this, because it looks foolproof. And as of this moment, pitas escape me – no pockets! Nebulous little buggers.

    Also, suggestion: make cinnamon-sugar pita chips. Yum!

  2. Mmm, cinnamon-sugar pitas. I’m a fan of anything with cinnamon and sugar.
    If you try it, let me know how they turn out!

Leave a Reply

