Brownie Pillow Cookies

As promised, here they are…Brownies. Stuffed inside cookies. I don’t think it gets much better than that.

I don’t know if any of you have ever visited The Fresh Market, but if you haven’t you should. Lots of organic, fresh produce, great vegetarian options, local meats…the list goes on. The one in Lexington is located on Tates Creek road, in the same shopping center as Malone’s and Rite Aid. The Fresh Market was also the place that introduced me to these cookies.

I made this recipe up one night when I was craving one of those suckers and didn’t feel like braving the traffic to go buy some. I’m sure there are a million ways to create them, but this is how I went about it.

First things first. The cookie part.

I’m sure you guys have already made the chocolate chip cookies I told you about a few posts ago. Right? Ok, well if not…here you go.

Make the dough as directed. If you don’t want to be assaulted with tons of chocolate (although I don’t see why that’s a problem), then skip the chocolate chips. After the dough is made, it needs to chill in the fridge for about 45 minutes to an hour. The colder the dough, the easier it is to shape around the brownies.

Now the brownie. If you want to go all out, then by all means, make some brownies from scratch. I was lazy and didn’t feel like washing any more dishes than I had to. So I used a Duncan Hines mix that I had handy. You can get creative, use whatever kind of brownie mix you want.

Make the brownies per the package directions. Let them cool, then cut them into small squares, about 1/2 an inch by 1/2 an inch. (Thought I had a photo of this, but I don’t. Lame.)

Now the fun part.

Grease or line your cookie sheet with parchment paper, and spoon out a pretty hefty amount of the cookie dough. Maybe 1/4 of a cup? I didn’t measure. I suck. My first batch, I probably used 1/2 a cup of dough and the cookies were crazy huge. They ran and the brownie popped out and they were terrible. Anyhow, use enough so that the brownie will fit in the middle while still leave some extra dough around the outside.

Don’t crowd your cookie sheet, these cookies spread out quite a bit!

Using you finger, press down the center of the dough and press a piece of brownie into it.

Now shape the dough around the brownie. This part can get a bit messy. If there isn’t enough dough, just spoon some more on top of the brownie and roll it until it forms a ball.

Bake them at 350 degrees, for about 15 minutes. My oven is a monster, so you may need a little more time for yours.

Ready to see them again? I know you are.

Voila! Brownie in a cookie! Slip into some sweatpants, grab a glass of milk and indulge!

Currently dancing to: “These Streets,” Paolo Nutini

3 Responses

  1. Gawd, those sound amazing and I honestly may have to try them and hope I don’t burn the house down…if I’m allowed back in the kitchen again, that is.

    Talk of great places to get cookies reminds me of Ben’s Cookies in Covent Garden in London. MISS IT.

  2. You can come visit me and I’ll make you a batch. We can eat them and watch The Tudors.

    Ahh! Ben’s Cookies! I smuggled a bunch of those back home. I have friends over there, maybe they’ll send me some…

  3. I would certainly have to wear sweatpants after eating these…

Leave a Reply

